Bemer Mat Review

Bemer Mat Summary

In this Bemer mat review we will examine the Bemer mat’s PEMF therapy including the waveform, intensity, frequency of the therapy.

In addition we will also examine the Bemer mat’s certifications, warranties, what you should know, and available devices & pricing.

There have been changes to the Bemer product line over the years so we keep this page updated and you’ll notice some history is included in the updated sections.

Bemer PEMF Therapy

Bemer Therapies

Product Details

Total Score

Bemer PEMF Therapy

1  – Waveform Types

2  – Frequency Levels

0.35  – Mat Intensity (Gauss)

 – Pulse Duration Levels

Bemer Therapies

*Separate red light therapy device called the B.Light was included with now discontinued and unavailable version of the Bemer called the Bemer Pro Set 

Product Details

Starting Price
• $4,850

Return Policy
• 30 Day Partial

Warranty
• Mat – 3 Year
• Controller – 6 Month

Sizes Available
• 2 Options

Total Score

0%

How Does Bemer Mat Compare!

Summary continued,

The Bemer Life Group is likely the most well known in the field of pulsed electro magnetic field therapy or PEMF. 

They’ve been around since 1990 and have been largely popularized through the years through MLM (multi-level marketed) distributors.

The Bemer Group is out of Liechtenstein, and “Bemer” stands for Bio Electro Magnetic Energy Regulation.

Many people also compare the Biomat to the Bemer, you can see our comparison between them on this page, Bemer vs Biomat.

bemer therapy mat and controller
Bemer Controller & Mat

Where are Bemer Products Found?

MLM, or multi-level marketing a form of network marketing, means that Bemer Group produces the products but they are also sold through various third parties that you will find locally or online.

Bemer now has a line up of PEMF products which are sold both on the Bemer Group homepage website and through their MLM distributor network.

You can also find a good selection of new and used Bemer mats on eBay.

We would recommend this over buying a locally used Bemer mat as eBay and Paypal offer buyer protection.

Which Bemer Product Are We Reviewing?

Note that for the purposes of this Bemer therapy review we will be considering the Bemer Go-Edition and Bemer Home-Edition offerings. The Bemer Home-Edition is considered the Bemer flagship product, and was previously known as the Bemer Pro.

Previously our review page considered the Bemer Pro and Bemer Classic models, which were formerly the most recent versions and the new releases after the original Bemer product, the Bemer 3000.

In many ways this review considers all Bemer products, new and old, because the Bemer PEMF technology used in the Bemer 3000 back in 2007, is the same as used today in the Home-Edition and Go-Edition.

Only the packaging, controllers, and applicators have changed over the years while the Bemer PEMF signal itself has remained the same and hasn’t been updated since the 2007 version.

What's the difference between Bemer Go-Edition and Bemer Home-Edition?

The differences between the Bemer Go-Edition and Bemer Home-Edition are as follows,

Bemer Home-Edition

  • Home-Edition comes with a mat applicator called the B.Body
  • Home-Edition does not come with the B.Pad which is a smaller applicator

Bemer Go-Edition

  • Go-Edition does not come with the mat applicator called the B.Body
  • Go-Edition does come with the B.Pad which is a smaller applicator, and a backpack to carry the smaller applicators

Both Editions

  • Both the Home-Edition and Go-Edition both come with the smaller applicators the B.Grip, B.Spot
  • Neither the Home-Edition or the Go-Edition come with the B.Sit, the seat applicator, this is only available with the add-on Office-Pack

Both editions utilize the same B.Box controller and same PEMF, so the main differences are simply the applicators included.

These are the primary differences, there are other small accessories that are respective to each edition, like a shoe cover for the Home-Edition for use with the mat, or the battery for the B.Pad which comes with the Go-Edition.

If you’re looking at the older versions of the Bemer and want to know the differences between the last versions the Bemer Pro and the Bemer Classic, read on in the next section.

What's the difference between Bemer PRO & Bemer Classic?

These are now unavailable for purchase (except used versions) and discontinued however include most the same components as the current Bemer Go-Edition and Home-Edition.

The primary difference between the Bemer Pro and Bemer Classic is the mat controller and accessories which they come with.

In fact we haven’t been able to tell any difference between the B.Body Classic mat and B.Body Pro mat, other than the Pro mat is made using Alcantara which helps with durability and stain protection.

Otherwise the mats have the same PEMF therapy, flux densities, weights, and size. 

The controllers however differ between the Classic and the Pro along with accessories included. The Bemer Pro set includes more PEMF applicators than the Classic bundle does.

Full Review Video of the Bemer Mat!

In our review video above we will cover all of the topics noted to the right with the time stamps.

Or watch from the beginning to see the full review!

*Note that I’ve added a correction to the video (No YouTube tool to add a text correction to the video itself unfortunately)

Video Topic Time Stamps:

1:23 – Background
1:49 – Product Types & Sizes
3:09 – Bemer Mat Therapy
3:54 – Bemer Mat Therapy – Waveform
5:15 – Bemer Mat Therapy – Frequency
7:48 – Bemer Mat Therapy – Intensity
11:07 – Does Bemer Mat PEMF Work? (Watch us test it!)
13:00 – Bemer Mat Intensity Check (Watch us test it!)
14:16 – Does Bemer have the Best PEMF?
18:39 – Certifications
20:35 – FDA Certifications
22:46 – Pricing
23:08 – Guarantee*
24:53 – Warranty
25:49 – Where to Buy & Where to Find
26:28 – Considerations & Other Things to Know
27:23 – Combining PEMF with Other Therapies


*In the Guarantee section of the video I say “in its original unopened box”, this is an error, and the box can be opened and still returned provided the other required conditions of return are met. See all details in the Guarantee Return Policy section on this page*

Check out the reviews,

Bemer Therapy

Bemer therapy is the name given to describe the specific PEMF therapy configuration generated by the Bemer PEMF device and controller.

People often also refer to Bemer therapy as physical Bemer vascular therapy or even micro circulation therapy.

Pain relief and circulation improvement through the blood vessels are often reported as the benefits of Bemer therapy and explain also why it’s referred to as vascular therapy, but does Bemer therapy really work?

What the Research Indicates

There are some publicly available studies which have been done using Bemer therapy and the results show either positively, inconclusively or ineffective.

The large amount of research from the PubMed showed interestingly that there is no evidence to suggest the patented Bemer waveform is more effective than any other form of PEMF.

The Pubmed research indicates that a therapeutic PEMF intensity of 1 – 10 Gauss and frequencies from 1-30 Hz are thus far found to be the most effective. (Bemer intensity: 0.035 up to 0.35 Gauss, Bemer frequency: 10Hz OR 33Hz)

You can find the Bemer Pubmed studies, as well as a long list of other positively indicating PEMF studies on our page, What is the Best PEMF Therapy? 

We think it noteworthy to mention there is a brand of PEMF mat which closely aligns with a multitude of PubMed PEMF research.

This is the Healthy Wave Pro Multi-Wave PEMF Mat, which provides a variable intensity of up to 3 Gauss and variable frequency between 1-30Hz, in addition to multiple waveforms and further PEMF customization.

For example, a short list of positive indicating PEMF studies from the PubMed website with PEMF that can be replicated or closely replicated by the Healthy Wave Pro Multi-Wave PEMF mat are as follows:

Bemer Vasomotion Micro Circulation

While researching the Bemer mat to put together this review page, we frequently came across a term called Vasomotion.

The Bemer marketing message is that nobody does vasomotion better than Bemer, and this is why they sometimes refer to it as Bemer Vascular Therapy.

Vasomotion is also known as angiokinesis and is what facilitates micro circulation in the body’s arteries and veins.

Micro circulation is the movement of blood on the microscopic level, the final runs of arteries and veins which bring blood to the very fringes of our body, the furthest reaches from our main arteries and veins.

We decided to try and find out as much as we could about the Bemer vasomotion as it is so highly touted, and it did not take us long to find a study which actually found Bemer to be ineffective in enhancing micro circulation.

The study of Bemer PEMF on PubMed, Effects of low-dosed and high-dosed low-frequency electromagnetic fields on Microcirculation, found that,

“With both pulsed low-dosed magnetic field and pulsed high-dosed magnetic field, just as with the sham treatment, a minor drop in temperature and decrease in microcirculation took place”, and

“It was concluded that a local application of a pulsed low-frequency magnetic field to the foot did not enhance temperature or cutaneous microcirculation.”

In this study it’s necessary to read between the lines to determine that it is a Bemer which they are testing, we paid for the full text source of the study so we could find confirmation of the device they used; however even in the free study summary they give details of the PEMF used, 100uT at 30Hz, which is Bemer’s PEMF configuration.

Looking further we were able to find numerous other PEMF research studies which improved circulation and microcirculation and one highly interesting literature review of multiple PEMF studies (non Bemer) which improved blood flow,

A Literature Review: The Effects of Magnetic Field Exposure on Blood Flow and Blood Vessels in the Microvasculature

We also found a study performed by the inventor of the Bemer, Dr. Klopp, which supported Bemer’s marketing claims of vasomotion improvement, Dr. Klopp Vasomotion PEMF Study.

We’re hesitant to put too much confidence in this study due to the contradictory independent studies seen, and the fact that it was indeed performed by the inventor of the Bemer and not an independent research group; however it does demonstrate positive results.

Bemer Nasa Agreement

The Bemer Nasa agreement is a popular point of marketing for the Bemer brand, so we took time to look into exactly what it means.

Nasa often engages in partnerships with external entities, contractors, academia, public, and other stakeholders.

We found this page on the Nasa website to be beneficial in describing their partnerships with various entities, Frequently Asked Questions about Nasa Partnerships

Nasa Agreement 1

The first thing that we noticed when we visited Nasa’s page for their Current Space Act Agreements, is that Bemer is NOT currently listed as a partner on their current list of agreements, it appears that their partnership has been expired for a number of months now since March 12, 2021. 

What we could find were previous lists of Active Space Agreements which were current as of March 31, 2018, September 30, 2019, and June 30, 2020 (linked below); each listing the starting of the agreement with Bemer as March 12, 2015 and the most recent listing the expiration as March 12, 2021.

Space Act Agreements – March 31, 2018 – Bemer on line 646

Space Act Agreements – Sept 30, 2019 – Bemer on line 595

Space Act Agreements – June 30, 2020 – Bemer on line 599

The current list of Active Space Act Agreements with Nasa has two lists for domestic entities, and the Bemer company isn’t found on either of these two lists (or the list of international partnerships either).

Domestic Space Act Agreements – Current

Domestic Space Act Agreements List 2 – Current

Bemer is, or was engaged in what is known as a “Non-Reimbursable SAA” (Space Act Agreement), with Nasa; to us it is unclear now whether this agreement is on-going as they are no longer listed in Nasa’s list of active agreements, however they are still using this as a point of marketing.

We’ll take the definition of this type of agreement straight from the Nasa FAQ page linked above, 

Nonreimbursable SAAs are collaborative agreements in which NASA and another party each contribute resources – which can include personnel, facilities, expertise, equipment or technology – with no transfer of funds. Each party agrees to fund its own participation in the activity for their mutual benefit.

Nasa is engaged in close to a thousand of these agreements every year, as can be seen on Nasa’s List of Active Space Act Agreements, and these range from many agreements with high school science teams to universities to companies like Bemer among others.

The title of the Bemer agreement with Nasa is, “Prototype Countermeasure Garment for Enhancing Microcirculation”, and its listed value is a “Non-Reimbursable”, $10,587, which is approximately the price of 2 Bemer devices.

What we find curious, in addition to the fact that the agreement currently appears to be expired, is that we haven’t seen any updates on any kind of developments with the agreement/research which was ongoing for more than 6 years.

We’ll be interested to see if we ever hear any further updates or developments with this appearingly expired collaboration.

Nasa PEMF Study

Often also referenced in the PEMF world is the Nasa PEMF Study, a highly interesting study performed independently by Nasa and finding highly positive results from PEMF therapy using a 10Hz, Square Wave between 10-200 mGauss.

It’s important to note that the Nasa PEMF study does NOT involve the Bemer mat in any way.

The Bemer Nasa agreement is an entirely separate agreement as outlined above, the Nasa PEMF study is a study completed independently by Nasa years ago and the configuration of the PEMF used in their study is very different from the Bemer PEMF signal.

You can check out the PEMF configuration of the study yourself on page 4 of the study, 10 of 37 of the PDF, Nasa PEMF Study.

Many PEMF devices reference the Nasa study including Bemer to show that PEMF is an effective therapy, oddly enough, none of them actually provide a 10hz, square wave PEMF like used in the Nasa study.

Another mat we review on our website, the Healthy Wave Multi-Wave Mat, actually provides square and sine wave PEMF from 1-30Hz, with an adjustable intensity up to 3 Gauss; meaning you can actually configure a 10Hz, Square wave, the exact PEMF therapy used in the original Nasa study using the Healthy Wave Multi-Wave Mat.

To us this is actually very cool that a PEMF mat can be configured to provide the same signal as used in the Nasa study; no other PEMF mats or devices have done this to date despite how often the Nasa study is used as part of a marketing pitch.

Bemer PEMF (pulsed electro-magnetic field)

The Bemer mat incorporates a single therapy known as PEMF, pulsed electromagnetic field therapy.

What defines this therapy is the structure of the PEMF waveform, along with its frequency and intensity, read on below.

PEMF Waveform

The defining attribute of the PEMF of the Bemer mat is the waveform that it uses.

Bemer has patented the waveform which they use which is a cascading sine wave pulsetrain which repeats 33 times per second.

The waveform is controlled by the B.Box controller.

The polarity of the waveform on the Bemer reverses every two minutes. 

Polarity reversal is widely agreed upon as effective & most PEMF mats utilize a polarity reversal with their own style of waveform.

When we scoured through the PubMed PEMF research we did not find any studies which tested a cascading sine wave pulse train, except for the Bemer specific studies.

The PEMF research which widely indicated positive results used either a Sine wave, or a Square wave at an intensity of 1 – 10 Gauss and frequency between 1-30 Hz.

Our representation of the Bemer Signal (note the polarity reversal)(note also that the Bemer signal has 40 pulses per "pulse", we represent less here to make it easier to visualize)

PEMF Frequency

Within the Bemer sine wave pulse train waveform there are 40 sine waves that gradually increase in both frequency and amplitude; this combination results in over 1200 pulses per second.

There is also a sleep setting which runs at 10 Hz, resulting in a much larger, or “longer” waveform.

This means you have 2 frequency settings to run the Bemer at, 33Hz or 10Hz

PEMF Intensity

The intensity ranges for the Bemer mat differ for the mat vs. point applicators available to plug into the box controller.

For the Bemer mats, the intensity range is from 3.5 to 35 microTesla (0.035 to 0.35 Gauss).

The Bemer point applicators run up to 100 microTesla and up to 150 microTesla with the Plus signal; this applies to the B.Spot, B.Pad and the new B.Sit. (0.1 to 1.5 Gauss)

What are the most effective PEMF waveforms, intensity & frequency?

Most PEMF therapy brands claim their waveform is the most effective, but how do we know if that’s really the case?

There is in fact hundreds of studies on PEMF publicly available on the PubMed website, but oddly enough most PEMF brands do not reference any of these studies.

We compiled 56 of the most relevant PEMF studies we could find and summarized the information for you on our page, What is the Best PEMF Therapy?

The PEMF research available on PubMed doesn’t indicate that one certain PEMF therapy brand and their waveform is the best, surprise, surprise.

What the research indicates, is that a PEMF intensity of between 1-10 Gauss, and between a 1-30Hz frequency provides repeatedly positive results. (studies were done using a regular sine wave)

We should note there is now one brand offering a PEMF product that allows 1-30Hz frequency modulation at a 3 Gauss variable intensity, using a sine wave like the PubMed studies, this is the Healthy Wave Pro Multi-Wave PEMF Mat.

What is the most natural PEMF waveform, frequency, & intensity?

Some things we do know are that, each cell of the human body has its own small electromagnetic field and these tend to be between the range of 0-30Hz.

The Earth has a magnetic field of its own which is highly varying and has a fundamental resonance frequency around 7.83Hz referred to as the Schumann Frequency, this is a relatively low frequency meaning it has a larger waveform associated with it.

earth ionosphere schumann resonance
Earth's Ionosphere with Schumann Resonance

It would make sense to hypothesize therefore that the most natural PEMF would be at this 7.83Hz Schumann Frequency.

Read more on our page specifically about Natural Earth based PEMF.

A common misstatement is that the Earth’s frequency is a sinusoidal wave, the Earth has in fact a highly variable waveform which is constantly changing and resonates at the Schumann Frequency.

The intensity of the earth’s magnetic field is only in the range of 30-60 microTesla, 0.3-0.6 Gauss.

Thus far the common agreement appears to be that between 0-30Hz is the most effective range for frequency. The common agreement around intensity is that a very high intensity does not yield better results, most PubMed studies show that intensity in the range of 1-10 Gauss is effective.

See our detailed review of PubMed PEMF studies on our page, What is the Best PEMF Therapy?

PEMF Considerations

A 20 minute session of PEMF is recommended once per day to receive the benefits of the therapy. 

A longer duration is not harmful, but also not necessary as you will receive the maximum benefits of PEMF in just a 20 minute period.

 One important thing to note is that individuals with pacemakers and pregnant women should not use PEMF therapy, it doesn’t say this when visiting the BEMER website so be sure to consult your own physician and make your own choices.

Scroll down to our section on the FDA device recall for Bemer devices for more information on contraindications and warnings.

Bemer Light Therapy (Red Light Therapy Applicator)

The previous flagship line of Bemer, called the Bemer mat Pro package used to include something they call the B.LIGHT.

When we search for this now, we can only find this item as out of stock; and it is not currently being marketed so it appears to be an item only included the previous editions of the Bemer Pro Mat package.

The B.Light is, or was, a red light therapy applicator and is not PEMF and is not integrated into the mat.

This applicator could be used separately for point application of red light therapy, but note this accessory comes only came with the (now unavailable), Bemer Pro Set.

We reviewed 56 of the most pertinent PEMF Research Articles to determine the best waveform, intensity & frequency

Therapies Not Included

The Bemer mat is a PEMF only device; you may notice between other mats reviewed on this site that the Bemer has a more intricate controller, this is the focus of the Bemer mat to provide PEMF therapy only and a sleek visual controller for its use. 

This is kind of like a vehicle with high-line trim package, both will get you there but one looks shinier than the other along the way. 

Not Included in Bemer Mat:

  • Far Infrared Therapy
  • Negative Ions
  • Crystal Therapy

Combining PEMF with Far Infrared Therapy

Combining PEMF with far infrared therapy can be an effective way to maximize therapeutic benefits.

There is a relatively simple explanation for this.

PEMF will raise the energy of your cells within range of the therapy increasing their ability to heal.

Far infrared therapy will increase blood flow throughout the body.

By allowing the body to bring as much blood flow through the areas receiving the benefit of PEMF as possible, these benefits will effectively be transported throughout the rest of your body.

Some PEMF mats are built to include far infrared therapy, you can see which ones in our comparison table, Top PEMF Mats Review.

Bemer Go-Edition vs Home-Edition - Prices & What to Know

The two current, main, product offerings by Bemer are the Bemer Go-Edition and the Bemer Home-Edition.

There is another product called the Office-Pack, but this is only an accessory called the B.Sit along with a carrying case which requires the Bemer controller, the B.Box, from the Go-Edition or Home-Edition to operate.

The Bemer PEMF which you get from the Go-Edition, Home-Edition, and Office-Pack, are all exactly the same and are generated by the B.Box, the Bemer controller.

The differences between the Go and Home-Editions and the Office-Pack are just the applicators they use to apply the PEMF, along with some smaller accessories.

Some people may consider the price points of these Bemer packages to be rather high.

This is often the case with MLM (multi-level marketing) or network marketing style products. 

Because the network of distributors of the product provide all the marketing and support for Bemer’s product, the product prices tend to be higher than average because the distributors need to be compensated. Rather than like with a standard direct from business to consumer model, the MLM or network style model incorporates many more people into the sales process, all of whom need to be paid.

It is these additional layers of individuals between the business and the end consumer that account for the majority of the cost inflation of MLM or network style marketed products.

Prices on new and used mats can be seen on eBay as well, however pay close attention as the warranty will vary widely on these products.

BEMER Home-Edition

Price$4,990

  • Includes:
    • B.Box Professional – professional mat controller
    • B.Body Pro – the pro mat applicator
    • B.Spot – spot applicator
    • B.Grip – a grip/handle for using the B.Spot 
    • B.Scan – to test the mat’s signal
    • Wall mount for B.Box, shoe cover, power cable

BEMER Go-Edition

Price$4,850

  • Includes:
    • B.Box Professional – professional mat controller
    • B.Spot – spot applicator
    • B.Grip – a grip/handle for using the B.Spot 
    • B.Pad – a wearable pad to apply PEMF to localized spots on your body, good for travel
    • B.Scan – to test the mat’s signal
    • Battery for B.Box, car power cable for B.Box, Go-Edition Backpack

BEMER Office-Pack

Price$630

  • Includes:
    • B.Sit – pad applicator designed to be sit upon
    • Office Edition carrying bag
    • NOTE: No B.Box controller included, this pack only to be purchased as an add-on to the Home or Go Editions

BEMER B.Sit

Price$630

  • Available only in the Bemer Office-Pack
  • The B.Sit by Bemer also known as the Bemer Chair
  • This is a pad applicator ONLY, this REQUIRES A CONTROLLER TO WORK
  • The B.Sit, or Bemer Chair, is a good accessory for individuals who sit frequently and wish to use their BEMER
  • Dimensions – 17.7” W x 15” L
  •  

BEMER B.Pad

Price $319

  • This is an APPLICATOR ONLY, this REQUIRES A CONTROLLER TO WORK
  • The B.Pad is a good accessory for individuals who want localized application and is a good travel accessory
  • Included in the Go-Edition, or for purchase separately
  • Dimensions – 43.7” L x 5.1” W

Bemer Classic Vs Pro - Prices & What Differences to Know

There were previously 2 main product packages, the Pro and the Classic, both of these are now discontinued by Bemer, but many of the components remain the same between them and the Go-Edition and Home-Edition as described above.

In case you’re looking at a used Bemer Pro or Bemer Classic set, or if you’re interested in the history, we’ll keep this information here on our page for your reference.

These kits, the Pro and Classic sets, included what you needed to get started with the Bemer product line. There are also other types of applicators available, but the first thing you need is a controller.

Alternatively you could (previously but not any longer) buy a controller separately and only one of the applicator accessories to use with it.

The therapies offered by the classic and Pro mat controllers appear to be the same, the difference is the control interface.

The Classic and Pro mat also appear to be nearly the same, the difference by their specification being that the Pro uses Alcantara in its construction which is harder to stain and more resilient material.

It’s important to know that the Bemer PEMF Signal has not changed since 2007.

Whether you buy a used Classic set, Pro set, or even the older Bemer 3000 (from 2007 or newer), the Bemer PEMF therapy itself will be the same as with the brand new Home-Edition and Go-Editions, the difference is only in the controller interface and scheduling capabilities.

Prices on new and used mats can be seen on eBay and you’ll likely encounter some of these previous Bemer versions, the Bemer 3000, Pro, and Classic sets, which as mentioned provide the exact same PEMF as the new Home and Go-Editions.

However be careful of the warranty offered with used Bemer products, as it is likely only DOA (dead on arrival) buyer protection and you won’t have a direct from Bemer warranty.

BEMER Pro Set

Size – 23.6” W x 70.8” L – $5,990.00 (now discontinued)

  • Includes:
    • B.Box Professional – professional mat controller
    • B.Body Pro – the pro mat applicator
    • B.Spot – spot applicator, fixing strap (to hold the mat on a bed)
    • B.Grip – a grip/handle for using the B.Spot and B.Light
    • B.Pad – a wearable pad to apply PEMF to localized spots on your body, good for travel
    • B.Scan – to test the mat’s signal
    • B.Light – red light therapy applicator
    • Wall mount, foot protection, car power cable

BEMER Classic Set

Size – 23.6” W x 70.8” L – $4,290.00 (now discontinued)

  • Includes:
    • B.Box Classic – classic mat controller
    • B.Body Classic – the classic mat
    • B.Spot – spot applicator, fixing strap (to hold the mat on a bed)
    • B.Grip – a grip/handle for using the B.Spot and B.Light
    • B.Scan – to test the mat’s signal

Certifications, Production, Distribution

MDC Marking

The Bemer products have been certified by MDC and also have the CE marking.

MDC is an independent review company which works in the medical field to check whether devices are safe for use; companies pay for MDC to review their products to show that they are safe for use.

CE Marking

The CE means “European Conformity” (in French, conformity European hence CE), any product with the CE marking means that the product falls within the directives of the EU for safe use.

Within the CE marking, Bemer complies with ISO 13485 which is a European standard for safety and quality standards generally for medical devices. 

The interesting fact about the CE marking, is that businesses can put this marking on their product without actually ever having their product tested. When they put the CE marking on their product they are simply declaring themselves that it falls within these regulatory guidelines, but it does not mean that the product was ever test.

The only way to verify if the product was actually tested by the CE is that the CE marking on the product will then have a number stamped with the marking. This is the review or certification number pertaining to when the product was actually reviewed and tested.

Production & Distribution

The mats & signal generators are manufactured in Liechtenstein, Switzerland by the Bemer Group, this appears to be the location of the company headquarters as well.

The Bemer Life Group has been primarily distributed since their conception via an MLM structure (multi-level marketed).

This means that any individual purchasing a mat, can for a relatively small surcharge can become a distributor of the product themselves.

These distributors will then have specialized logins for the Bemer website to sell to their friends and others and once a sale is made these distributors will receive a commission.

Via the structure of an MLM organization, this means that not only the end level distributor will receive a commission, but also all levels above this person will also receive a share of commission.

This is the leading factor when it comes to the high price levels of MLM distributed products, there are so many levels of individuals taking a commission between the end user and the business that prices must be inflated to pay all the “middle-men”.

Currently you can visit the Bemer Group homepage to purchase a mat for yourself or go through one of the MLM distributors.

Often times if you go to one of the distributor webpages through a simple google search you’ll find that the checkout page is actually a sub-page of the official Bemer Groups website. You may also be able to purchase Bemer in person from a distributor or used on other websites.

Be careful if you’re buying a used mat to check its functionality (you could check this using the B.Scan). Or purchase on eBay used for their buyer protection.

Bemer FDA Approval

Bemer products are FDA registered (not FDA approved) as a Class 2 medical devices with 510(K) clearance.

It’s important to differentiate between FDA Approval and FDA Registration.

When a device is “registered” this means it simply fits into a category of devices the FDA has already decided is safe.

When a device (or pharmaceutical drug) undergoes “approval”, this means the device is entirely new and needs a new category unto itself (this approval process can cost in the millions).

Bemer’s Class 2 with 510(K) clearance simply means that the device has received its PMN (pre-market notification) and is cleared for sale in the USA, ie. registered and falling into a pre-existing category of devices.

The categories progress from Class 1 to 3 for most stringent regulation by the FDA.

The 510(K) form is intended to determine whether or not a product or device falls into a category of devices already deemed safe by the FDA.

In this case the FDA has determined that the Bemer mat falls into the category of devices, “Powered Muscle Stimulator”.

This being said, the Class 2 with 510(K) still means the product is reviewed and deemed safe for sale to the public by the FDA.

Bemer had to submit for a new 510(k) Premarket approval, because it’s original became obsolete when a Class 2 Device Recall was issued on the Bemer Classic and Pro Set. 

Bemer’s original 510(k) form approval can be seen here on the FDA website, Bemer 510(K) Premarket Notification, and we’ve also included a screenshot here for you. 

This 510(k) approval as you can see at the bottom of the screenshot, includes a recall because of safety concerns.

Note that Bemer has now an updated 510(k) pre-market approval from the FDA and is once again cleared as safe for sale to the public, scroll down to see more details on Bemer’s current FDA status.

bemer 510k form original
Bemer FDA 510(K) Form (now outdated)

Bemer FDA Class 2 Device Recall - Classic Set, Pro Set

Bemer issued a recall on their products on January 12, 2021 because, quoting the recall,

“ There potential that electromagnetic fields generated in the therapy system may cause technical defects in a patient using an insulin pumps or a malfunction of a pacemaker.”

You can see this notice on the FDA website here, Class 2 Device Recall Bemer Classic Set, Bemer Pro Set

We’ve also excerpted it here for you to see:

bemer class 2 device recall
Bemer Class 2 Device Recall
Bemer Class 2 Device Recall Specified Actions

Effectively the recall was to notify anyone using any kind of medical pumps such as for insulin that there is an absolute contraindication to using Bemer therapy, or anyone who uses pacemakers that they need to consult with a specialist physician before using the Bemer product because it may interfere with the operation of their device.

It seems to us disagreeable that this issue arose, because, since the beginning of this website and our reviews we have always advocated that anyone using a pacemaker or similar medical device consult with their health professional before using any and all PEMF devices including Bemer.

Meanwhile many Bemer distributors had been marketing the Bemer as safe for use for people with pacemakers, that is until now. 

  • (it is worth noting that in many cases, PEMF is safe for use with devices like pacemakers, but not in ALL cases, and therefore you must always consult with your health professional first if you rely on any medical device like a pacemaker) 
  • Per the recall for devices like insulin pumps there is an absolute contraindication to the use of Bemer devices (and in our opinion any other PEMF device)
  • Always consult your trusted professional physician with any questions related to these topics and do not rely on advice from other websites, or from our website, on any issue relating to your health

Bemer was undergoing an FDA Import alert which started in late 2019 and was ongoing until late 2020, it’s unclear whether this import alert is related to the device recall above initiated on January 13, 2021.

If this recall was issued by Bemer on January 12, 2021 as a result of the FDA flagging their products for not providing a warning for those with pacemakers and medical device pumps in 2019 late into 2020 we are not very impressed with their timeliness. 

If however the import alert (still for unclear reasons) was not due to the safety recall, and Bemer issued this recall on January 12, 2021 of their own volition, then they should be commended for taking appropriate actions as soon as they could, however this information is not available on the FDA website so it is unclear the reasoning.

Bemer FDA Import Alert

The FDA keeps a list of devices and items which will automatically be detained when being brought into the USA and it is updated often. 

Typically products with their 510(K) form are exempt from this situation, however on October 17, 2019 Bemer was added to this list despite having their 510(K) form which was listed as being possibly insufficient to overcome the appearance of violation.

Bemer has since been removed from this list, however you can see the current list of FDA import Alerts here, FDA Import Alert 89-08

While the Bemer products were still on this list we made a snapshot as pictured below.

It can be seen that the Classic and Pro sets were added to the import alert list on October 17, 2019, and remained there for a number of months. The last check we did showed them still on the Import Alert list as of March 23, 2020.

The reason for being on the Import Alert list is still unclear, however if it was due to the necessity of adding warnings for those with pacemakers and medical pumps then in my opinion they should have taken much more timely action with the issued recall.

FDA import list
Bemer FDA Import Alert list
Previous FDA Import Alert on Bemer Devices (now outdated)

Bemer FDA Approval Current Status

The current situation is that, since Bemer’s previous 510(k) form is obsolete due to the recall, they have successfully registered another 510(k) form for the Bemer products.

You can see this current 510(k) form edition here, Bemer Current 510(k) Form Premarket Notification

We’ve also included a screenshot for you here below of what you’ll find on the FDA website for Bemer’s 510(k) form.

Bemer FDA 510(K) Form - Current

As you can see, it is now up to date as of February 4th, 2021.

Despite the Import Alert on the Bemer products which lasted nearly a year and the device recall because of lack of safety labelling; it now appears that the Bemer products, with their updated labelling and Class 2, 510(k) form registration completed, has been successfully reviewed and deemed safe for sale to the public by the FDA.

Warranty & Guarantee

Warranty

When considering any large purchase the warranty and return policies of the product are of utmost importance.

The Bemer Group lists their full terms and conditions at the bottom of their official webpage, we recommend before making a purchase you read through the entirety to make sure you know what guarantees you’ll receive for your purchase.

Warranty - What You Should Know

All registered Bemer products have a 3 year warranty with the exception of the battery and the B.Light (now discontinued), these items have a 6 month warranty.

The 3 year warranty includes the B.Box controller which is good to see as the B.Box is the mat controller & signal generator which is typically the most complex and expensive part of the system. The mat itself is a very simple construction of fabric and wire, not much at all which could fail or go wrong.

Some PEMF products offer a worse warranty period on the controller than the rest of the system and for the reason above it’s always important to consider the warranty on the controller.

Other PEMF products offer an even longer warranty on the controller than on the rest of the product which lends a lot of confidence in the quality of the product, in the case of Healthy Wave Multi-Wave, a 5 year controller warranty and 2 year mat warranty.

Guarantee Return Policy

There is a 30-day money back guarantee return policy for the Bemer Go-Edition and Home-Edition, and previously for the Bemer Classic and Bemer Pro-Set products but only when they have been purchased directly through the Bemer Group website.

If the product was purchased on the official website, then provided conditions are met there is a 30 day guarantee.

Some of these conditions include,

  • Return request made within 30 days
  • Product in original packaging
  • All additional items included (accessories) with shipment to be included
  • A copy of the original invoice.

If these conditions are met then the mat can be returned for a refund, minus all shipping and handling and minus a 10% re-stocking fee.

If the items are at all damaged then there is no refund.

The terms & conditions document on the Bemer website is particularly challenging to find, so we’re excerpted the Return Policy portion for you here and you can see the conditions listed above.

The language used where we have underlined in purple opens the door to confusion around whether or not product returns are permitted if the original packaging has been opened.

We called Bemer headquarters to clarify this for our readers and they were clear in their answer that the product can be returned after the box has been opened so long as all the components are there, and you meet the rest of the required return conditions.

Bemer return policy
Bemer Return Policy from Bemer Website

This section of the terms and conditions on Bemer’s website appears to have been updated since we took this screenshot, and we’re now unable to find the exact verbiage on the Return policy, however as far as we can tell it remains the same.

The current excerpt on return policy is as follows found in Bemer’s terms and conditions document:

bemer return and warranty policy current
Bemer Return & Warranty Policy from Bemer Website Current

Guarantee - What You Should Know

The independent MLM distributors of the Bemer product are called IBD’s (Independent Bemer Distributors).

And something very important to note is that if you become an IBD within the 30 day purchase period, then the money back guarantee is no longer applicable.

Something else important to note, is that purchases made through one of the MLM distributors, IBD’s, do not receive the same 30 day guarantee that Bemer Group offers if made through the IBD’s private inventory. We caution anyone making purchases from an IBD to do their due diligence as support, warranties, and guarantees can vary from vendor to vendor.

You can see these conditions in the excerpt of the Return Policy pictured above, and excerpted from the current Terms and Conditions document on the Bemer website here:

bemer product registration

Another important thing to note that if a Bemer mat is purchased through an IBD then it is the end customer’s responsibility to register the product with Bemer for warranty purposes. If the mat is purchased direct from the Bemer Group website then it is automatically registered.

Where to Buy

There are numerous avenues to purchase a Bemer product due to all of the IBD’s or independent distributors.

 A Google search will likely turn up used Bemer products for sale as well as health & wellness centres located locally where you can go to try out the technology. (if you’re a local center or clinic that provides Bemer Therapy, email us to be featured on our locations page!)

If you intend to purchase a second hand mat, our recommendation would be to purchase from eBay.

This is for the customer protection they offer that you wont find buying locally from Craigslist for example.

Many of the health centres which have Bemer products for use by their customers are also IBD’s selling the Bemer technology. 

As mentioned before we recommend doing your due diligence when it comes to evaluating the support you’ll get from any of the many distributors before purchase.

Our recommendation would be to buy your Bemer device from the official Bemer Group website or in good condition from eBay. 

Purchasing from the official Bemer website ensures that you’re covered under their 30 day return policy (provided conditions are met), and the product is also automatically registered for the warranty with no further registration actions required on your part. 

You can follow this link to the official website, Bemer Group, or this link to check out Bemer products for sale on eBay.

Before you go, check out our top rated PEMF mat which comes with a couple extra additional therapies not included with the Bemer mat!

Thanks for making this far down the review, it took longer than you might think to research, assemble & present so we hope you’ve enjoyed it and it helps answer your questions!

If you did enjoy it, drop us a comment or please consider sharing the article with friends & family!

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest
Share on email
Share on Email
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter

8 thoughts on “Bemer Mat Review”

  1. I just had an aortic value replacement. Can I use the beamer. Could I use it only on my head (for cognition) or lower extremities if not safe for total body.

    Reply
    • Hi Myrna!

      to our knowledge, the only time that you should be concerned with using a PEMF mat is when you have a pacemaker (because of the electronics inside it).

      Funny that most PEMF manufacturers don’t mention this warning!

      We think it should be just fine to use for the whole body in your case, but as always, please refer to your medical professional for advice and don’t take our opinion here as a replacement for your medical professional’s advice.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Reply
    • Hi Barry!

      We recommend you check out the Bemer Life Group’s home page for more information on this, they’ll be happy to help you there!

      Reply
  2. The reason Bemer does not say that it can’t be used by people with pacemakers is because it is safe. A few other PEMF treatments have also been found to be safe. I have a pacemaker and have been using Bemer technology for 3 years with only health improvement & no negative side effects.

    Reply
    • Hi Jacquie,

      thanks for the comment.

      Indeed Bemer used to say that it was safe for use with pacemakers, or at least did not give any warning to individuals who used them.

      I made a point of calling this out as a negative in my earlier (now updated) review of the Bemer mat on this page because I disagreed with this statement or lack of warning.

      We have always recommended to consult your own doctor with any questions pertaining to the use of PEMF in conjunction with any medical device like a pacemaker and never, ever take medical advice from our website, any comments on our website or anything else you may find on the internet. Trust only these important questions with your own, professional, trusted physician.

      As we now found out, Bemer had to issue a recall on their devices because of contraindications while using medical pumps, and on a case by case basis for use with pacemakers.

      It’s unfortunate that it took until this recall for what I would consider basic logic based on the physics.

      PEMF is a pulsing magnetic field, which “could” alter the functionality of electronic devices via electric current induction from the pulsing magnetic field (based on a number of factors such as magnetic field strength).

      We can be glad this is now included as a warning with all Bemer devices, and was mailed out to all Bemer owners by their IBD’s as outlined in Bemer’s device recall on the FDA website.

      Glad to hear you’ve been getting great results with no negative side effects!

      All the best! 🙂

      Reply
    • Sorry to hear this Kelly, hopefully you can find someone to help with the issues you’re having.

      When I called in to the Bemer headquarters one time to clarify something for my readers I actually didn’t have to wait on hold for too long.

      Good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Get Our Newsletter!

Subscribe now and get a coupon for our top rated therapy mat sent straight to your inbox!